班志遠 David Bandurski

班志遠為2016年出版的《Dragons in Diamond Village》(企鵝出版社)的作者。此書記錄中國鄉村狀況及城市化的政治因素。他現任香港大學中國傳媒研究計劃編輯,並經常就中國媒體及言論自由撰寫評論。其文章曾刊登於《紐約時報》、《華爾街日報》及《查禁目錄》等。班志遠更透過其香港製作公司「紅燈籠電影」,監製一系列有關中國的獨立紀錄片及劇情電影。

鄭煒 Edmund W. Cheng

鄭煒現任香港浸會大學比較政治學助理教授,香港中文大學未來城市研究員。 其研究著重探索歷史學及社會科學的共通性。其論文發表於《Political Studies》、《Social Movement Studies》、《中國季刊》、《現代亞洲研究》及《二十一世紀》等。他同時為《端傳媒》、《明報》、《外交者》及《中參館》撰寫藝術及政治評論。鄭煒現正編輯兩本有關政治抗爭及香港社會的書籍,並於香港實施世界價值觀調查。

鄭樂捷 Kris Cheng

鄭樂捷為《Hong Kong Free Press》編輯總監。他是香港新聞工作者,專注報導本地政治新聞。其文章刊登於《華盛頓郵報》、《國際公眾電台》及《香港經濟日報》等。他畢業於香港中文大學社會學系。

何麗明 Tammy Ho

何麗明是詩人、編輯、學者及譯者。她亦是香港首本網上文學期刊《Asian Cha》的創辦人及聯席編輯,並同時編輯學術期刊《Victorian Network》。她現任香港浸會大學英文系助理教授,與學生一同探究小說美學、詩歌藝術及現代戲劇。她於2016年榮獲香港藝術發展局頒發文學藝術類別的「藝術新秀獎」。何麗明於2015年出版她首本詩集《Hula Hooping》。

Cathy Holcombe

Cathy Holcombe為金融作家及編輯。她喜歡以幽默方式評論商業衍生的文化及道德議題。自1995年定居香港起,她於本地金融界從事工作多年。主修英國文學的她,更積極推動博雅教育,希望在愈趨分歧及相互猜疑的世界中培養眾人的同理心。

官綺雲 Yeewan Koon

官綺雲現任香港大學中國藝術副教授,並著有《A Defiant Brush: Su Renshan and the Politics of Painting in Guangdong》。她曾榮獲多個研究獎項,包括由研究資助局資助其新書項目,以理解中國畫作中自我概念的複製 ,及Henry Luce/ACLS頒發的研究基金合作計劃,以解讀19世紀中國書畫家謝蘭生的日記。官綺雲的當代藝術工作涵蓋策劃於亞洲協會香港中心舉行的展覽「徐冰:變形記」及撰寫藝術評論。

William Nee

William Nee為國際特赦組織東亞分部中國專題研究員,現駐香港。他專注探索中國人權問題,範疇包括言論自由、維權人士及死刑等。他亦監察新疆維吾爾自治區的情況。其評論刊登於《外交者》、《Hong Kong Free Press》及《Open Democracy》。在加入國際特赦組織前,他曾擔任《中國勞工通訊》發展總監及任職於《中國人權》。

Jason Y. Ng

Jason Y. Ng的著作包括於2010年出版的 《HONG KONG State of Mind》及2013年出版的《No City for Slow Men》。他於2016年出版的最新作品《Umbrellas in Bloom》是首部紀錄雨傘運動的英文著作,也是講述我城後殖民時代發展──香港三部曲的壓軸作品。另外,其專欄常見於《衛報》、 《南華早報》、香港《Time Out》、《EJ Insight》及《Hong Kong Free Press》。Jason Y. Ng同時是全職律師並擔任香港大學法律學院客席副教授。

柯天銘 Timothy O'Leary

柯天銘為香港大學哲學教授、人文學院學院主任及校務委員會的民選成員。他聯合創辦「港大警覺」,致力捍衛學術自由。他著有一系列有關傅柯的作品,並探索倫理、美學及小說的力量。他同時擔任「Rowman & Littlefield International」出版的《New Critical Humanities》系列的聯席編輯。

Ilaria Maria Sala

Ilaria Maria Sala 是著名記者及作家。她自1998年起居於東亞,並視香港為家。Sala一直為多間國際媒體撰寫文章,現正擔任《Quartz》的撰稿人。她同時是陶藝藝術家,熱衷於荼藝和乾隆皇帝。

 

沙美智 Mishi Saran

沙美智的長篇小說 《The Other Side of Light》躋身2013年 「Commonwealth Book Prize」的決選名單。她亦著有以回憶錄手法創作的旅遊作品《Chasing the Monk’s Shadow: A Journey in the Footsteps of Xuanzang》,此書是2006年印度「Hutch Crossword Book」的決選作品並入圍德國「Lettres Ulysses Award for the Art of Reportage」。她的短篇小說於香港榮獲多個獎項,並於《英國廣播公司》播放。她亦獲邀至瑞士「Chateau de Lavigny」及紐約「Art Omi」出任駐留作家。其最新文章刊於《洛杉磯書評》及《Quartz》。她現正創作一部背景設於30年代上海的長篇小說。沙美智是生於印度,現居香港的作家。

Sarah Schafer

Sarah Schafer 為記者、編輯及紮根香港的研究顧問。她剛剛為「美國筆會」聯合撰寫報告,分析外國記者在中國大陸採訪面對的挑戰。

Schafer 曾任職於《華盛頓郵報》、《新聞週刊》等國際媒體,專注報導中國、俄羅斯和美國新聞。及後,她擔任「國際特赦組織」中國研究員,集中調發展商和地方官員在拆遷住和徵用土地時,涉及的暴力和虐待問題。她亦曾編輯一系列非小書籍和研究報告。

Stephen Vines

Stephen Vines為新聞工作者、作家及電台節日主持,並營運數間餐廳及廚具公司。他曾任東方日報英文報《東快訊》的創辦編輯、諷刺雜誌《Spike》的創始出版人及曾於倫敦出任《觀察家報》編輯。身處亞洲期間,他亦為多份國際刊物工作,包括《衛報》、《每日電訊報》及《獨立報》等。其著作包括《Hong Kong: China’s New Colony》、《The Years of Living Dangerously: Asia from Crisis to the New Millennium》、《Market Panic》及《Food Gurus》。他現於《香港電台》電視部主持每週一次的時事節日《The Pulse》。

Simon Westcott

Simon Wescott 為旅遊及傳媒企業家,於英國及澳洲兩地積累了20年經驗。他現居香港,為《LUXE City Guides》持有者及行政總裁。他也曾經擔任著名精品酒店預約網站Mr & Mrs Smith (亞太區)的聯合創辦人及前總裁、《孤獨星球》的國際出版人、墨爾本《時代報》及英國一系列《Reed Consumer Books》的營銷總監。他曾經出任澳洲「Malthouse Theatre」主席及「Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board」、「Chunky Move」舞蹈社、「Castlemaine State Festival」及澳洲進步政治倡議團體「Get Up! 」董事會成員。

Kate Whitehead

Kate Whitehead 著有《After Suzie》及《Hong Kong Murders》兩部香港罪案作品。她曾任職《英文虎報》及《南華早報》,及擔任國泰航空雜誌《Discovery》編輯。她現時擔任多間國際媒體的特約記者,包括《Acumen》、《英國廣播公司》旅遊平台、《美國有線新聞網》、《福布斯》、《Publishing Perspectives》、《時代週刊》、《Travel & Leisure》及《Women’s Wear Daily》。她現時主要為《南華早報》撰稿,但亦同時為其他本地媒體寫作。

黃裕邦 Nicholas Wong

黃裕邦畢業於香港城市大學藝術碩士課程,其詩集《天裂》榮獲第28屆浪達同志文學獎「Lambda Literary Awards」男同志詩歌組別首獎。他現於香港教育大學擔任教職。

David Bandurski

David Bandurski is the author of Dragons in Diamond Village (Penguin/Melville House, 2016), a book of reportage on villages in China and the politics of urbanisation. Currently editor of the University of Hong Kong's China Media Project website, he is a frequent commentator on Chinese media and freedom of expression. His articles have appeared in the The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Index on Censorship and other publications. David is a producer of Chinese independent documentary and fiction films through his Hong Kong production company, Lantern Films.

Edmund W. Cheng

Edmund W. Cheng is Assistant Professor in comparative politics at Hong Kong Baptist University and Fellow in urban studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. His research aims to explore what history and social sciences can offer each other. He has published in Political Studies, Social Movement Studies, China Quarterly, Modern Asian Studies, Twenty-First Century, among others. He also writes about arts and politics for Initium, Ming Pao, Diplomat and China File. He is co-editing two books on contentious politics and Hong Kong society and is implementing the World Values Survey in Hong Kong.

 

Kris Cheng

Kris Cheng is the Editorial Director of Hong Kong Free Press. He is a Hong Kong journalist with an interest in local politics. His work has been featured in Washington Post, Public Radio International, Hong Kong Economic Times and others. He has a degree in Sociology from the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Tammy Ho Lai-Ming

Tammy Ho Lai-Ming is a poet, editor, academic and translator. She is the founding co-editor of Asian Cha, first online literary journal based in Hong Kong, and is an editor of the academic journal, Victorian Network. She is currently an assistant professor in the Department of English at Hong Kong Baptist University where she teaches fiction, poetics and modern drama.  In 2016, she received the Hong Kong Young Artist Award presented by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. Her first collection of poetry is entitled Hula Hooping.

Cathy Holcombe

Cathy Holcombe is a financial writer and editor who likes to opionate on cultural and moral issues related to commerce; sometimes doing so in a humorous fashion, whether intentionally or not. She has lived in Hong Kong since 1995, spending many of those years working in the city’s financial sector. A long-ago English literature major, she advocates a liberal arts education for fostering empathy in this increasingly divisive and suspicious world of ours.

Yeewan Koon

Yeewan Koon is Associate Professor of Chinese art at the University of Hong Kong and author of A Defiant Brush: Su Renshan and the Politics of Painting in Guangdong. She is also the recipient of numerous research awards including a RGC grant for her new book project on the “self-knowing copy” in Chinese painting and a Henry Luce/ACLS fellowship for a collaborative reading project of a 19th century diary of Xie Lansheng. Her work in contemporary art includes curating the exhibition Xu Bing: It Begins with Metamorphosis, held at Asia Society Hong Kong, and writing art critical reviews.

William Nee

William Nee is a China Researcher for Amnesty International’s East Asia Regional Office in Hong Kong. He carries out research on human rights in China, particularly on freedom of expression, human rights defenders, the death penalty, and he also monitors the situation in the Xinjiang Uighur Autonomous Region. William’s commentary has appeared in The Diplomat, the Hong Kong Free Press, and Open Democracy. Before joining Amnesty, William worked for China Labour Bulletin, where he was Development Director, and he also worked at Human Rights in China.

Jason Y. Ng

Jason Y. Ng is the author of HONG KONG State of Mind (2010) and No City for Slow Men (2013). His latest work, Umbrellas in Bloom (2016), is the first book in English to chronicle the Umbrella Movement and the last installment of a Hong Kong trilogy that tracks the city's post-colonial development. As a columnist, Ng contributes to the Guardian, the South China Morning Post, Time Out (HK)EJ Insight, and Hong Kong Free Press. He is also a full-time lawyer and an adjunct associate professor at the Faculty of Law of the University of Hong Kong.

Timothy O'Leary

Timothy O'Leary is Professor of Philosophy and Head of the School of Humanities at the University of Hong Kong, where he is an elected member of HKU Council. He co-founded the group HKU Vigilance, dedicated to defending academic freedom. He has written extensively on the work of Michel Foucault, especially in relation to ethics, aesthetics, and the powers of fiction.  He is co-General Editor of the book series New Critical Humanities at Rowman & Littlefield International.

Ilaria Maria Sala

Ilaria Maria Sala is an award winning journalist and writer. She has been living in East Asia since 1988, and calls Hong Kong home. Sala has written for a number of international publications, and is now a staff contributor for Quartz. She is also a ceramicist, and is very passionate about tea and the Qianlong emperor.

Mishi Saran

Mishi Saran's novel, The Other Side of Light was shortlisted for the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize. She is also the author of a travel book-cum-memoir Chasing the Monk’s Shadow: A Journey in the Footsteps of Xuanzang, that was a finalist for India's 2006 Hutch Crossword Book award and long listed for Germany's Lettres Ulysses Award for the Art of Reportage. Saran's short stories have won prizes in Hong Kong and been broadcast on the BBC. She has been awarded writing residencies at Chateau de Lavigny and at Art Omi. Saran’s recent essays have appeared in the Los Angeles Review of Books and Quartz. She is now writing a novel set in Shanghai in the 1930s. Saran was born in India and currently lives in Hong Kong.

Sarah Schafer

Sarah Schafer is a journalist, editor and research consultant based in Hong Kong. She recently co-authored a report for PEN America on the challenges that foreign journalists face in mainland China.

Ms. Schafer worked for nearly two decades as a reporter for The Washington Post, Newsweek and other publications, covering China, Russia and the United States. She later served as China researcher for Amnesty International, where she investigated, among other subjects, the violence and abuses committed by developers and local officials when evicting residents and seizing land. She has edited several non-fiction books and research reports.

Stephen Vines

Stephen Vines is a journalist, writer and broadcaster and runs companies in the food sector. He was the founding editor of Eastern Express and founding publisher of Spike, in London he was an editor at The Observer and in Asia has worked for other international publications including, the Guardian, Daily Telegraph and The Independent. Vines is the author of several books, including: Hong Kong: China’s New Colony, The Years of Living Dangerously - Asia from Crisis to the New Millennium, Market Panic and Food Gurus. He hosts a weekly television current affairs programme in Hong Kong.

Simon Westcott

Simon Westcott is a travel and media entrepreneur, with 20 years experience in the UK and Australia.  He is currently owner and CEO of LUXE City Guides, based in Hong Kong.  He was previously the co-founder and Managing Director at Mr & Mrs Smith (Asia Pacific), Global Publisher at Lonely Planet Publications and Marketing Director at The Age, Melbourne and Reed Consumer Books in the UK.  He chaired Australia's Malthouse Theatre, and served as a board member of the Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board, the dance company Chunky Move, the Castlemaine State Festival and the Australian progressive politics advocacy group, Get Up!

Kate Whitehead

Kate Whitehead is the author of two Hong Kong crime books - After Suzie and Hong Kong Murders - she was on staff at the Hong Kong Standard and the South China Morning Post and editor of Cathay Pacific's inflight magazine Discovery. She is now a freelance journalist and has written for many international media outlets, including Acumen, BBC Travel, CNN, Forbes, Publishing Perspectives, Time, Travel & Leisure and Women’s Wear Daily. She also writes for local publications, chiefly the SCMP.

Nicholas Wong

Nicholas Wong holds an MFA from City University of Hong Kong. His poetry collection, Crevasse, is the winner of the 28th Lambda Literary Award in Gay Poetry. He teaches at the Education University of Hong Kong.